Skip to content

Book Review: Create A Stylish Backyard Getaway

December 10, 2008

Stylish Sheds and Elegant Hideaways

by Debra Prinzing

Winter is a great time for planning next year’s garden activities.  Maybe you’re thinking about replacing your water thirsty lawn with an edible landscape.  Or maybe you’d like to design a planting scheme that attracts beneficial wildlife.  Have you given any thought to adding a shed?  Not just any shed, that houses your handy garden tools, but a stylish shed.

In her new book, “Stylish Sheds and Elegant Hideaways,” Debra Prinzing interviews 28 shed owners from every imaginable region of the United States and shed styles from modest to the luxurious and from Modern to English country.  The book offers over 200 photographs by William Wright that capture the details of each sheds’ construction and the different lifestyles of each shed owner. What I personally love about a book like this, is how Debra explores the decision making process of brainstorming, construction and decorating a backyard getaway.  This book is perfect for the do-it-yourselfer who is looking for more than just a pretty picture book with inspirational stories about people you’ll never meet.  She even lists the materials used in every chapter and the shopping resources in the back of book.  How easy is that?!

Debra is a transplant from Seattle and currently lives in LA where she is a regular contributor to the LA Times, Cottage Living, Better Homes and Gardens, Fine Gardening and Sunset.  As if that’s not enough to keep her busy, she also travels to give lectures on various garden and design topics.  Bottom line…she knows a thing or two about gardening with style.  Buy her book now at Amazon.com.


If you’re into the social media scene, you can follow Debra Prinzing on twitter, see her full profile on LinkedIn or visit her new Shed Style blog.  Heck, you can even follow me on twitter for occasional quick tips and resources.

Did you find this review helpful?


Bookmark and Share

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2008 3:20 pm

    Oh my gosh! I could live in that shed. Thank you for creating my yearn to revamp the tool shed.

  2. December 13, 2008 3:34 pm

    @Ang
    You are so welcome! I am still trying to decide where to put one in my backyard. Right now I only have one on the side of my house I built last year. Only houses the tools though. Best of luck next season!

  3. Jessica Hibbard permalink
    December 13, 2008 6:02 pm

    I need to put this book on my wish list … I saw a related story (in Sunset Magazine, I think) earlier this year, and it really piqued my interest. I love the idea of a backyard escape like this.

  4. December 13, 2008 6:09 pm

    @Jessica Hibbard
    I love this book too. I was lucky enough to meet Debra at a local Hardy Plant Society meeting and get a signed copy. You know, for bragging rights. Super nice lady! BTW, I love Sunset Magazine too.

  5. January 10, 2009 2:30 pm

    @Ang
    You are welcome! This book is such a great source of inspiration. I’m dreaming of ways to add one to my backyard too.

    Best,

    Jayme

  6. January 18, 2009 9:33 am

    Great looking book! I am definitely going to look it up, as we are always looking for inspiration to pass along to our customers.

  7. January 18, 2009 12:14 pm

    @Foxscountrysheds
    One of the most inspiring books I have on my bookshelf. The author is really great too. I had a chance to chat with her at a local garden meeting. She was featured as a shed expert in Dwell Magazine’s February 2009 issue.

  8. October 3, 2014 3:49 pm

    As a result, companies are being advised not to commit more than 75%
    of their requirement of advance purchasing of room
    nights at discounted corporate rates. If you live
    on Pahonyothin or Ladprao roads, you’re only 5-10 minutes
    from to a sky train or underground train station and another 15 minutes to downtown.
    All the hotels provide daily housekeeping services to the guests.
    Although luxury hotels in Melbourne are a popular accommodation option in such cases, but nowadays
    the concept of short stay apartment and serviced
    apartments are being popular and perfect alternative of luxury hotel.

  9. October 4, 2014 5:16 am

    Bookkeeping is a daunting task; many companies have failed due to poor bookkeeping.
    Performing the same tasks that can easily be handled by an online business at cheap rates doesn’t seem to make
    business sense either. Hence, other civilizations,
    particularly the Greeks and Romans, likewise made use of this light material for their writing and documentation purposes
    and replaced the cumbersome clay tablets and geometric tokens popularized
    by Mesopotamia. When you are starting out take into consideration is an excellent
    beginning to sell off general sterling silver rings, in that
    case there are certain issues that you have to
    find out.

Trackbacks

  1. Shed Style: Architecture, Interiors, and Ornamentation In The Garden » Blog Archive » A week filled with Stylish Sheds
  2. 15 Incredible People I Met at the San Francisco Flower & Garden Show « Nest In Style

Leave a comment