Skip to content

Highlights from the 2010 Northwest Flower & Garden Show

March 10, 2010

A Living Chair & Pillow

You know how I know it’s spring?  Awe-inspiring garden shows hit the calendar and warmer weather competes for my time in the office.  Yes, a month has gone by since the Northwest Flower & Garden Show, but the ideas are still fresh and ready to use in your own garden.  Better late than never, right?!  I had a chance to talk with fellow garden writers Theresa Loe, associate producer of the upcoming PBS series Growing a Greener World, and Christina Salwitz, a Seattle based Personal Garden Coach; as well as other garden show vendors about tips people can implement on their own. As you listen to each mini podcast, scroll through the pictures to get an idea of what each person is describing. Enjoy!

Creating a Living Wall with Strawberries

The display garden, There’s No Place Like Home, co-designed by Zsofia Pastor of Innovative Landscape Technologies, was themed around The Wizard of Oz.  However, what really caught my eye were the strawberry living walls. Zsofia discusses the smart use of strawberries, another other edibles, for living walls in home gardens.
Strawberry Wall

Placing Metal Sculptures in the Garden

Artist Blacksmith, Lauren Osmolski, shares with me how to utilize her sculptures in the garden to create focal points and winter interest.  Think about where you want to draw interest and place something fabulous there like Lauren’s Reed Sculptures, or imagine Sweet Sugar Snap Peas or Pole Beans vining up the reeds in the back of your veggie beds.

Attracting Bees To Your Garden

Many edible plants and fruit trees require pollination in order to bloom and create fruit.  Why not increase your chances of a successful season by attracting bees naturally to your garden? David Neil of Island Apiaries provides tips homeowners should think about when attracting bees to their backyards.

Smart Garden Design Tips

Christina Salwitz’s takes me through her favorite display garden, A Family’s Little Farm in the City, designed by Jessica Bloom of NW Bloom and co-created by Seattle Tilth. She points out stylish and sustainable garden ideas for many different types of urban gardens.  Depending on the size of your garden spaces, you can implement one or all of the ideas discussed in the podcast.

Pencil Teepee & Glass Bottle Rain Chain

John Deer Tractor Themed Chicken Coop

Mosaic Water Tank

Turning a Beater Truck into an Urban Homestead Garden

Theresa Loe discusses the reality of the Crops for Clunkers planting design by the Seattle Urban Farm Company. From chickens laying eggs in the truck cab to growing strawberries up the side, this display garden packs many great gardening ideas into a small spaces. Just be sure to ask your neighbors first before you decide to park your beater truck on the front lawn.

Beater Truck Turned Garden

Graffiti Decorated Truck

Living Strawberry Walls Topped with Lettuce

Out with the Motor and in with the Veggies!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 6:08 pm

    Great post. I particularly like the truck.

  2. March 10, 2010 6:16 pm

    Ohmygosh! I LOVE the Crops for Clunkers! I just hope it can make it down our way for the San Francisco Garden Show….might look a little worse for wear after the long drive…

  3. March 10, 2010 10:40 pm

    Rebecca,
    Jayme already knows this, but guess what? We are interviewing the designer of the truck garden for our PBS series Growing A Greener World. We will see him when we are filming our Bee Episode in Seattle! He not only created that totally cool truck, he also designed a roof top garden for a restaurant and that garden has bees!

    I can’t wait for you to see THAT episode!

  4. Jodi permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:36 pm

    I absolutely LOVE the strawberry wall and the Crops for Clunkers is brilliant! My neighbors already think I am crazy, that would send them into a tailspin! This show looks really amazing. I hate wishing time away, but I wish it were May already!

  5. March 12, 2010 8:58 am

    Thanks everyone for the time to post a comment. The beater truck was super popular at the show. Anytime you taking two completely opposite concepts, like an old truck and gardening, and create a beautiful design, it’s sure to capture everyone’s attention. I am so jealous Theresa Loe!

  6. March 12, 2010 2:41 pm

    Hey Jayme! Thanks so much for this post. I’m missing both west coast shows this year, but your descriptions really made me feel like I’m there.

    LN

    • March 18, 2010 9:20 pm

      Awesome Ellen! I will try to do the same with the San Fran Show. Such a bummer I won’t get to see you. Are you up for a Nest In Style podcast interview? I’d like a segment on foraging.

  7. March 12, 2010 8:14 pm

    Looks like it was an amazing show. I absolutely love the strawberry wall. I have such limited space and want to grow so many strawberries that I just did them in a hanging planter – but a wall is brilliant!

    • March 18, 2010 9:25 pm

      Seriously Stevie! The wall seems like a totally do-able project for an accomplished DIYer. Think I may try myself this season. The slugs are relentless!

  8. March 13, 2010 8:20 am

    I enjoyed your post. I’m sorry I missed both the Seattle and Everett shows this year, but I’m anxious….anxious to get outside. Just hoping the frost disappears this week so I can get my vegetables in the ground!

    • March 18, 2010 9:23 pm

      I hope we don’t get another frost. I planted cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, radishes, garlic, spinach and scallions. The itch was too much!

  9. March 13, 2010 8:07 pm

    Oh my word, that truck. I have always wanted to do that! I think I have the green thumb for it. Now all I need is the truck. Cool ideas. Thanks.

    • March 18, 2010 9:21 pm

      Gretchen, if you end up finding a clunker, please take pics and send them to us! I would love to see a DIYer recreate the Crops for Clunkers.

Leave a Reply

