Skip to content

iPhone Adventures: First Eggplant of the Season

August 7, 2009

Check out my cute little eggplant baby, first one of the season. Well, technically the second, because the first one rotted. I hadn’t realized it was hidden under some big leaves in the middle of the plant. Since eggplants need 60 – 95 warm days to produce worthy fruit, and yes, it’s technically a fruit, I chose the ‘Dusky’ variety for it’s purple fast-maturing characteristics.

I’ve pricked myself a few times on their thorny little branches, which makes pruning a pain (no pun intended). However, I must say my little frenchie named Leo hasn’t given it a second look after taking a prick in the schnoz.

Oval fruit varieties can grow quite large, up to 4 feet, and need staking when their heavy fruits start weighing down the branches. Plant a Japanese eggplant if your tight on space or limited to a small patio or balcony. Great for growing in containers.  Knowledge is power. Pass it on!

Look_Good


Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Jo Jo permalink
    August 8, 2009 8:58 am

    I have been enjoying the benefits of my Japanese Eggplant for some time now. But still no sign of the my larger eggplants in the raised bed and in the containers. Lots of blooms so hopefully some will make their appearance soon! Great pix.

  2. August 9, 2009 12:29 am

    I am thinking of seeing if I can grow eggplants as a fall veggie (fruit) since our fall is generally so warm in So Cal. I have ‘Little Prince’ seeds from Renee’s.

    • August 9, 2009 9:05 am

      Hey Fern,

      Good luck with the eggplant seeds. You’ll have to keep us updated if eggplant does well in SoCal in the fall. I love Renee’s Seed packs, such helpful info!

Leave a Reply

