Skip to content

Video Series: Joe Lamp’l Creates a Victory Garden for under $25

June 21, 2009

Joe Lamp’l has to be one of my all-time favorite garden gurus in the country (see previous posts interview, book review, 15 Incredible People).  If you’ve ever had the opportunity to talk with Joe in person, you’ll notice just how genuine and passionate he is about Growing a Greener World for all of us, not just experienced gardeners, to enjoy.  Joe started talking about creating a Victory Garden for under $25 back in April 2009 and has created a fantastic video documentary series [hail to Joe for creating a multi-media gardening experience for us visual learners!].  Check out this episode where he shows us how to keep urban deer invaders at bay in his garden.  See all the $25 Victory Garden videos on JoegardenerTV or read about it on his blog Compost Confidential.

What is a Victory Garden?

Victory Gardens, also referred to as war gardens, were started by the Secretary of Agriculture during World War I and II in an effort to reduce public food shortages brought on by the war effort.  The movement called for 18 million new Victory Gardens and four million new gardeners answered the call of duty. However, the enthusiasm for kitchen gardening was short lived as the threat of food shortages disappeared.   Since the turn of the century, Victory Gardens have made a comeback in part due to a grassroots effort in the form of community gardens, websites and blogs dedicated to the subject, and public petitions; for example, Michelle Obama’s creation of the White House Victory Garden (the original started by Eleanor Roosevelt).  There are many resources available on the internet to help you learn more and start your own backyard Victory Garden.

Victory Garden resources to help you get started

Look_Good
Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2009 7:47 pm

    Jayme. As you might imagine, I get Google alerts a lot whenever my name or brand shows up on the internet. I rarely have the time to respond to most of them but this is one that I just had to make a comment. First, I am humbled and honored to read the kind words you said about me. Secondly, you should know I am equally impressed by you. In the relatively short time I have had the pleasure to know you, I have been impressed by your vision, your ability to see the big picture, and your gift of being able to communicate what you find to your audience in a very accurate but entertaining way. You ask a lot of questions because I know you are genuinely interested and then you willingly and generously share your new found insights with your readers. You are an impressive communicator and I’m happy to call you my friend. Thanks for all your efforts in the mission and vision we both share to grow a greener world!
    JL

    • June 22, 2009 6:37 am

      Wow Joe! I have warm fuzzies all over. Thank YOU for the kind words. I am deeply motivated by events, movements and people I believe in, and you happen to be one of them. I feel honored to know we’re friends and I appreciate every opportunity you’ve given me to talk with you.

      Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

