Skip to content

The Produce Garden: How to Grow Asparagus

April 4, 2009

Updated: this is not me in this video, just posting a super helpful video. Sorry for the confusion!

I have never attempted to grow asparagus but I plan to invest in a little garden plot and a lot of patience this year.  I’ve poured over tons of material to educate myself, but I can only learn so much by reading books, and then paralysis starts to set in as I see the 159,000 Google results for “how to grow asparagus.”  Since I’m a self-proclaimed impatient gardener, cringe at the idea of failure, and prefer to enjoy the fruits of my labor as quickly as possible, I tend to gravitate towards the how-to videos.

I found The Produce Garden on the first page of my Google search.  I love his relaxed, step-by-step, home style videos of showing the different aspects of rural living, from growing organic fruits and vegetables, rearing livestock, gardening and self-sufficiency.  If you have the space, many of his techniques can be applied to urban living as well.  These videos may seem overly simple for the experienced gardener, and everyone probably has their own opinion of growing edibles depending on their region, but his videos capture the details that books and internet articles seem to overlook.  His Aussie accent is an added bonus.

DISCLAIMER: I do NOT recommend you making your own pesticides, herbicides, or any other -icides.  Chemicals are scientifically tested for a reason.  Try alternative approaches like Integrated Pest Management and feeding your soil promotes healthy plants, people and pets.

Growing veggies for the first time is like trying to follow directions to a friend’s house for the first time.  Verbal or written directions seem obvious to the person who drives to and from home everyday.  You know the scenario;  your friend says, “oh, the directions are super easy,” then an hour later, your saying, “sorry I’m late but I didn’t see the blue mailbox on the right.”  [Thank goodness for Google Maps for us visually dependent people to help guide us through life outside the garden].

Learn more about Christian, the man in the videos, at his website The Produce Garden.
Bookmark and Share

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 3:28 am

    Jayme,

    Very helpful! Thanks very much for your video instructions. I planted my first asparagus patch 2 weeks ago, after reading a number of articles that offered competing advice about depth of the trench, whether to back-fill the hole immediately or gradually over time as the asparagus grew, etc. I planted the “Mary Washington” variety and it’s been helpful to learn that it can take many weeks for the plants to break ground. I was beginning to wonder it perhaps they were dead. I appreciated your comment about the flexibility of the roots being a good sign of healthy plants – because there was little other sign of life in the crowns that I recently planted. Now I must be patient and wait for the soil to warm up.

    • April 10, 2009 7:01 am

      I’m glad to see someone else appreciated the details in the video. I totally read competing advice for planting instructions for asparagus too. So hard to decide which ones to follow when you’re learning for the first time. Keep me updated on your progress!

      Just want to make sure everyone knows that I’m not the person in the video.

  2. Tammie Rost permalink
    April 27, 2009 7:18 pm

    I loved the video. It’s so much easier to follow than reading instructions from a book or website. I have 2 questions. First, how do you handle weeds in an asparagus garden? I have heard that because of the asparagus root system, weeds can not be completely pulled out. Second, I saw that you used a container planting system. Is this a more appropriate way to plant them or is it alright to use the conventional meathod of planting in a regular garden?

    • April 27, 2009 9:33 pm

      Thanks for the visit Tammie! First off, that is not me in the video. This tells me that I should make a note in the blog post since a couple have assumed the same thing. About the weeds, just be sure that you clear all weeds as you prepare your soil, and for those stubborn weeds, just pick them when they’re small.

      You don’t have to plant them in a raised bed but be sure to prepare the soil properly. Here is another great link that shows this perfectly: http://clearwaterlandscapes.com/wordpress/2003/04/11/preparing_for_asparagus/

      Hope this helps

  3. June 8, 2009 7:58 pm

    Thanks for the info I have an existing patch about 30 years old & its about 25 feet long & 3 feet wide. It does have some spots where no asparagus is growing. We are only getting maybe 4 or 5 pounds a year from this patch. Should we be getting more? Thanks Greg

    • June 9, 2009 7:32 am

      Thanks for the visit and comment Greg. Gosh, I’ve barely been alive for 30 years and don’t have much experience growing asparagus for that long. I’ve heard averages of 8-10 years of good crop production.

      I will ask some of my garden geek friends and see if they’ll have a better answer.

      Best,
      Jayme

  4. June 12, 2009 3:20 pm

    well Jayme if you do find out anything i would appreciate it my main question is how much asparagus should you get from a certain size garden thanks greg

  5. p poynor permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:37 am

    Where can I get asparagus crowns in the Bay Area (CA) or a source to order from?

    • May 14, 2010 7:15 am

      Territorial Seed Company was the first place I looked, but they are sold out for 2010. Here’s the link for future reference. Many online sources are sold out at this time. Try searching on Google to see what is available in your area. Amazon has a few vendors selling asparagus roots too.

  6. Carol Bell permalink
    May 26, 2010 12:15 pm

    We are wanting to move our asparagus plants in September. Any suggestions?

  7. July 16, 2010 7:42 am

    I planted asparagus about 2 months ago. They have gotten about 2 to 3 feet tall. My problem is they are so small around that the wind blows them over. I may not have planted them deep enough. Can i add dirt to them now or even next spring?

Leave a Reply

