Skip to content

The Garden Gnome Gets a Modern Makeover

February 12, 2009

Street Style Gnomes

Urban Street Style Gnomes

Someone has answered my prayers by designing these ultra modern garden gnomes.  Check out Vitamin’s Urban Creature Street Style Gnomes!  Their mission is to make life a little less ordinary with their “innovative, aesthetically attractive products.”  I want all 13 designs to place in all my garden beds.  These would even get my studly, 23 year-old co-worker, who made fun of me for attending the NW Flower & Garden Show, thinking that gardening was cool after all.  I haven’t found a US retailer that is carrying them yet, but I entered the pound into a currency converter, and they would sell for about $71 US dollars.

In my recent interview with Duane Kelly, owner of both San Francisco and Northwest Flower & Garden Shows, we discussed the generation gap that exists in the garden industry.  But are these street style gnomes evidence of two generations converging?  Baby Boomer meets Gen Y?  Graphic Designer meets Gardener?  For my own sake, I’m hopeful.


Bookmark and Share

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 10:14 am

    Very cool. Probably not safe with our two dogs but they’d be fun in the front yard.

  2. February 12, 2009 11:00 am

    Wow! Fantastic! You should come check out some of our garden stuff…

  3. March 13, 2009 1:33 pm

    Not sure these qualify as “garden gnomes” in my eyes. They are modern but not the modern garden gnome that I would put in my yard. I like the concept of a modern garden gnome so perhaps I’ll come up with my own version.

    • March 14, 2009 3:53 pm

      Are you a product designer? Please, oh, please design a modern garden gnome and let us know. We need more options! Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Josy permalink
    September 8, 2010 8:51 am

    What about a such garden ?
    Perhaps too much figurines after all…

Trackbacks

  1. Great Garden Design Ideas #1 | The Sketch Book and Shovel

Leave a Reply

