Skip to content

Winter Feeding Is Helpful To Backyard Birds

October 14, 2008

Winter Finch by Clyde Barrett

Winter Finch by Clyde Barrett

Backyard bird feeding is growing in popularity during the spring and summer months.  But what happens to the birdies during the winter?  What do they feed on?  Some of you may have taken the time to plan a garden that naturally attracts birds to your backyard all summer long and into the fall.  But have you thought about winter?  Long, cold winters can prove to be especially hard for your feathered friends to find food.  Many birds feed on the seeds and berries from your plants, but snow and ice can make feeding very difficult during the winter.  This is where you, an up-and-coming bird feeding enthusiast, come to their rescue.  You may be asking yourself, “won’t feeding my backyard birds keep them from migrating?”  To put it to you simply, “no!” >>More Top 10 Winter Bird Feeding Mistakes To Avoid

Birds are not only here for our entertainment, but their presence is an indicator of a healthy environment.  Birds are essential for balancing the ecological cycle by pollinating our plants, dispersing seeds, and preying on unwanted pests.   A decline in their populations can mean a decline in other natural resources as well.  Many birds can use our help in urban areas, suburban areas and rural areas.  Once you’ve decided which birds are in your area, check out this a great food chart to help you pair the right foods to the right birds. >>More on Creating Healthy Bird Habitats


Bookmark and Share

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 9:38 am

    Hi Jayme, I’m lovin’ the birds….Here’s the link to that cool “birdcam” I am trying out. http://www.wingscapes.com/

    great to meet you in person last night. I have a feeling we’ll continue this conversation in the days to come…wishing you the best with your launch. Please let me know your progress!
    cheers, Debra

  2. October 16, 2008 7:09 am

    @Debra,

    I still can’t believe we were able to meet at the Hardy Plant Society meeting. I love twitter for connecting our DOTS. You and Mary Kay were a super help to me and I am very grateful!

    Best of luck to you and stay in touch,

    Jayme

  3. November 7, 2008 9:55 am

    Hi Jayme!
    What an excellent post. I also appreciated the link to the common mistakes.
    We have a three tube bird feeder and we have enjoyed it for years. Now, since August our Siamese kitten, Isis, sits at the window and watches bird TV!
    I appreciated the info. that birdseed will not stop migrating. I am glad to have that answered definitively.
    I will wash the birdfeeder when I get home tonight!
    Some birds that make a migratory path to our garden each year are cedar waxwings and Grosbeaks.
    All so much fun!
    Thanks so much for the message!
    That was a great way to start the day
    🙂
    Best regards,
    Philip

  4. November 9, 2008 6:34 pm

    @Phillip
    So good to hear from you. I am glad that you appreciated the information about winter birdfeeding. I am in New York City right now and have the time to browse around the web. Going to the Museum of Natural History tomorrow…so excited! Visited Central Park for the first time in the Fall and absolutely loved it. But forgot my camera. Can you believe it? I’ll take the memories instead.

    Best,

    Jayme

  5. November 10, 2008 1:10 pm

    I hope you have a great time at the museum of natural history! let us know which exhibits i should see. my brother just moved to NY.
    Sounds like you are having a blast!
    How fun!
    Best,
    Philip

  6. November 16, 2008 9:51 am

    @Phillip,
    I had a fabulous time at the museum. Once again, I wish that I had time to go through the exhibits in more depth. I had only four hours and a lot of the exhibits were either closed, or closing in an hours time. I did get discounted admission though. I pretty much loved all of them except for the Hall of Minerals. Just not into them as much I guess. A few of my favs: all the mammal exhibits, dinosaur fossils (amazing to see in person), birds of the world, Hall of Biodiversity and North American Forests.

    Have you been to NYC? This was my fourth visit and the best trip yet.

    Best,

    Jayme

Leave a Reply

