Skip to content

Do-It-Yourself Modern Trellis

March 8, 2008

trellis-4-with-1.jpg trellis-rescale-3.jpg trellis-rescale-2.jpg

I finally have pictures of the steel cable trellis I completed over the holidays. The trellis supports climbing Star Jasmine, which is not a true jasmine by the way. I used 1/8″ galvanized steel cable for the supports.

Measure the length of your future trellis and have a store associate cut the cable to length.

If you try to cut it at home, you’ll just end up mashing the cable and the ends will fray. I pre-drilled holes for the eye hooks (pic #2). First, I looped the cable through the top hooks, secured it with the recommended hardware, then pulled it taut with some pliers before looping through the bottom hooks. As you can see (pic #3), the vines cover up the hardware and hooks once they are attached back to the cable. I loosely attached the vines with bread ties, otherwise the heavier, mature vines slide down the cable. >>How-to Instructions

Good luck to all you do-it-yourselfers this season!


Bookmark and Share

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 5:13 pm

    I love this trellis. You make it seem so easy…maybe I could actually manage this?!

  2. March 20, 2008 5:29 pm

    It really is super easy. I am a total do-it-yourselfer but anyone can do this. I saw it on some HGTV show one day. Do you think I should be more detailed? If so, I will write a follow up with more detailed instructions. Thanks for the visit!

  3. March 24, 2008 6:19 pm

    well done, man

  4. adi permalink
    October 16, 2008 6:42 am

    Thanks for posting such detailed and simple instructions. I made a variation by organising eye hooks and wire into a diamond pattern to make the plants fan out more. I wasn’t sure what a wire rope clip looked like so thanks for posting a picture of it.

  5. October 16, 2008 7:00 am

    @Adi,

    You are welcome! I am happy to hear that I could be of help. The diamond pattern sounds really cool…I’d love to see what it looks like.

    Best of Luck on future projects!

    Jayme

  6. Claudia permalink
    April 26, 2011 2:43 pm

    What a great idea! Not only does it look fantastic and work well, but it’s something that looks doable. Thank you so much for sharing!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    July 7, 2011 9:37 am

    Not to burst your bubble, but this isn’t anything new. I have pictures of my great grandparent’s home taken in the early 1900′s with this kind of trellis stretching up over the covered porch to the 2nd story of the house. Great idea, though, and nice to see it shared.

  8. January 16, 2012 6:11 am

    炊飯器チーズケーキ
    Adversity helps make odd bedfellows

  9. January 9, 2013 1:34 pm

    Exactly how long did it acquire u to post “Do-It-Yourself Modern Trellis Nest In Style”?
    It comes with loads of beneficial information. Many
    thanks ,Lowell

  10. March 2, 2013 8:30 am

    I really seem to agree with every aspect that ended up being put into writing within
    “Do-It-Yourself Modern Trellis | Nest In Style” satgean.
    com . I am grateful for all of the advice.Thanks
    for the post-Florentina

  11. March 26, 2014 11:33 am

    Thanks for the great idea! I found the steel cable and hardware at http://www.endurancehardware.com/ at fantastic prices.

  12. Anonymous permalink
    May 3, 2014 1:23 pm

    Just FYI the experience I have had with a vine plant going up the siding like that created a problem. The vines worked up under the siding and pulled the siding away from the house. Love the idea but would watch to make sure no stragglers get up under the siding.

Trackbacks

  1. Modern Trellis Design for the Garden | The Sketch Book and Shovel
  2. What Can You Find at an Extension Service Plant Sale? « Nest In Style
  3. Our Modern Cable Trellis Featured On Apartment Therapy « Nest In Style
  4. DIY Garden Fixes from the Home and Hardware Stores | Home Owner Nut
  5. My Modern Cable Trellis is Featured on Apartment Therapy | aHa! Home and Garden

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

